Current Participants
New Participants
View Pricing

Program Objectives

Upon successful completion of the program, a CAP will be able to demonstrate in-depth knowledge of ACCSC accreditation standards and accreditation process.

The program is not intended to measure capacity to memorize the Standards of Accreditation; instead as a CAP, your value will rest in your ability to understand the ACCSC accreditation standards, processes and procedures and be able to use ACCSC resources to find answers, solve accreditation problems, and create an institutional environment that is proactive in nature. Essentially, as a CAP, you don’t need to ‘know all of the answers’ should ‘know where to find all of the answers.'

The ultimate goal of the CAP program is to equip schools to perform at exceptional levels as a means to support, promote, and enhance student success.

Program Design

The learning pathway for the CAP program is designed for adult learners within the higher education arena. The program consists of 13 Major Knowledge Areas (MKAs), each based on a set of identified Knowledge Objectives that support the respective MKA. Your itinerary will be flexible to the extent that after completing three core MKAs, you will be free to encounter the knowledge areas in any order.

Each MKA utilizes rigorous assessments that gauge your level of knowledge gained from ACCSC existing resources and the ability to demonstrate the successful application of that knowledge. You earn a Knowledge Badge for each MKA upon successful completion of the MKA requirements, which include passing the MKA exam. Take the final Certification Exam when you’ve earned all your badges and become a Certified Accreditation Professional!

The ACCSC Certified Accreditation Professional certification must be renewed every five years by taking and passing the updated final exam.

Review Guidelines

Program Guidelines

  1. The CAP program is self-paced and should take 20-40 hours to complete.
  2. Complete the three core MKAs in any order you like. (You can stop and resume any MKA at any time.)
  3. Complete the remaining MKAs in any order you like. (These MKAs will unlock when you’ve completed the core MKAs.)
  4. Take the CAP Exam when you’ve earned your Knowledge Badge for all the MKAs. (The CAP Exam will unlock when you’ve earned all your badges.)
  5. You will earn your CAP Certificate when you pass the CAP Exam. (Your digital certificate will include a badge image linked to your complete list of earned badges.)
  6. You’ll have continued access to the program even after you earn your CAP Certificate.

MKA Guidelines

  1. Review the complete list of the Knowledge Objectives to get an overall understanding of what you need to be able to do upon completion of the MKA.
  2. Review the Learning Resources* and checkmark each Knowledge Objective when you believe you’ve accomplished the objective.
  3. Attempt the Knowledge Checks to help you assess your knowledge and understanding of the identified objectives.
  4. Attempt the Challenge Scenarios to help you further with the mastery of the critical objectives.
  5. Customize your MKA by adding your own resource links in Learning Resources and adding your personal reflections in My Notes.
  6. Take the MKA Exam when you believe you’ve mastered the objectives of the MKA. As a minimum, you must checkmark all Knowledge Objectives and complete all Knowledge Checks to be able to take the exam. You must pass the exam with a score of 80% to earn your Knowledge Badge for each MKA.

* The various links to the Standards of Accreditation will take you either to the applicable page in the standards or the first page of the standards depending on your browser.